Welcome



The Industry Steering Committee on Wellbore Survey Accuracy (ISCWSA)

SPE WELLBORE POSITIONING TECHNICAL SECTION (SPE WBTS OR AKA ISCWSA)

MEETING #43

4TH MARCH 2016, FORT WORTH



Wellbore Positioning Technical Section

Sponsors for Meeting #43

- Main Meeting Lunch
 - Scientific Drilling
- Coffee breaks
 - Motive
 - MS Directional
- Sub-committees
 - Collision Avoidance SurCon
 - Education
 - Error Model Maintenance Performance Drilling
 - Operator Wellbore Survey Group (OWSG) IPM Magnetics

Scientific Drilling

SURC

MAGNETICS LTD.

- Well Intercept
- Networking Event MagVAR



Performance

TECHNOLOGY •

IVE

Mag VAR

Energy Services.

Sponsorship Program

Philosophy

- Reduce the burden of requesting for a single sponsor
- Small manageable contributions
- Allow for more participation

Program

- Main meeting lunch \$3,000 (1x position)
- Coffee breaks \$1,500 each (6x positions)
- Sub-committees \$1,500 each (5x positions)
 - Collision Avoidance Sub-committee reserved
 - Education Sub-committee
 - Error Model Maintenance Sub-committee
 - Operator Wellbore Survey Group (OWSG)
 - Well Intercept Sub-committee
- Networking Event @ cost (1x position)

Meeting #44 – Where?

- Constitution required to meet along side SPE ATCE
 - 26-28 September Dubai
 - Regular ISCWSA attendance low
 - Economic downturn so most companies cutting back and reducing travel
 - Already spoken with SPE, they are ok with us deviating from constitution
- Where
 - Last three meetings have been in the US (Houston, Fort Worth)
 - US Houston?
 - Europe Aberdeen, Glasgow, London?
 - Officers will make decision with inputs from Directors at Large, Subcommittee Chairs, and general members

ISCWSA Websites

- SPE Wellbore Positioning Technical Section
- ISCWSA.net
- ISCWSA.org Transfer from Copsegrove Development to SPE WBTS
 - Payment for \$50 USD
 - Thank you to Steve Grindrod
- Seek professional help to revamp our website
 - Third party
 - Estimate cost of \$3,000
 - Continue with website maintenance
- Uniformed content amongst all three websites

Meeting #43 Program - Morning

Introduction	Son Pham (ConocoPhillips) - Chair	Welcome, Introduction, and announcement of SPE WPTS (ISCWSA) Officer Nominations	8:30	8:40
Program Agenda	Jonathan Lightfoot (Oxy) - Program Chair	Schedule and Program Review	8:40	8:45
Keynote Presentation	Ed Stockhausen (Chevron)	Surface and Wellbore Positioning Errors and the Impact on Subsurface Models and Reservoir Estimates	8:45	9:15
Technical Presentation	Stefan Maus (MagVAR) Lisa Grant (Noble Energy)	Estimating the Economic Impact of Wellbore Positioning Errors on Reservoir Recovery	9:15	9:45
Sub-Committee Update	Steve Sawaryn	Sub-Committee Activity Report: Collision Avoidance	9:45	10:00
Coffee Break - Sponsored by MS Energy Services		http://www.msenergyservices.com/	10:00	10:15
Technical Presentation	Marc Willerth (Scientific Drilling)	Improving Lateral Surveys Using Memory MWD Data	10:15	10:45
Technical Presentation	Lisa Grant (Noble Energy) Peter Clark (Chevron)	Overview and Progress Update for API RP78 "Surveying and Wellbore Positioning"	10:45	11:15
Technical Presentation	Darren Aklestad (Schlumberger)	Borehole Positioning and Tortuosity Standard Calculation Methods, "Where we are now and where we are going"	11:15	11:45
Sub-Committee Update	Andy McGregor (Tech21)	Sub-committee activity Report: <i>Error Model</i>	11:45	12:00
Lunch - Sponsored by Scientific Drilling International		http://scientificdrilling.com/	12:00	13:00

Meeting #43 Program - Afternoon

Guest Speakers	Taner Kodanaz (DigitalGlobe) Lamar Landry (DigitalGlobe)	Orbital Debris Collision Avoidance, the act of maneuvering a satellite to decrease the probability of collision. What can we learn from other industries? Also, High Resolution Satellite Imagery for Well Location Validation and Confirmation.	12:15	13:00
Election	Election	Nominations and Elections for Officers	13:00	13:30
Sub-Committee Update	Neil Bergstrom (Devon)	Sub-Committee Activity Report: Operator Wellbore Survey Group (OWSG)	13:30	14:00
Technical Presentation	Jerry Codling (Landmark Graphics)	The effect of survey station frequency on wellbore position accuracy	14:00	14:30
Technical Presentation	Robert Wylie (National Oilwell Varco)	"Gravity, isn't it a constant and the same everywhere?"	14:30	15:00
Coffee Break - Sponsored by Motive Drilling Technologies		http://motivedrilling.com/	15:00	15:15
Sub-Committee Update	Steve Mullin (GyroData)	Sub-committee Activity Report: <i>Education</i>	15:15	15:45
Sub-Committee Update	Roger Goobie (BP)	Sub-Committee Activity Report: Well Intercept	15:45	16:00
Technical Presentation	Alan Gosse (Halliburton)	General Overview of Ranging and Intercept Practices plus a Technical Review of Horizontal to Vertical and Opposing	16:00	16:30
		End to End Horizontal Wellpath Intercepts.		
Administration	Phil Harbidge (Schlumberger)		16:30	16:40
Administration Administration	Phil Harbidge (Schlumberger) Robert Wylie (NOV)	End to End Horizontal Wellpath Intercepts.	16:30 16:40	16:40 16:50
		End to End Horizontal Wellpath Intercepts.		

Elections

Board of Directors: A section board of directors shall be composed of the forenamed officers plus three other members of the section.

Election of Officers: Six months before the term of any officer is due to end, the 3 non-officiating members of the board shall constitute a nominating committee and begin to canvass the members of the section to determine those willing and qualified to serve as officers. The nominating committee shall present the name of at least one candidate for each office at the Annual Meeting of the section. Additional nominations may be made from the floor. It is acceptable for incumbent officers to stand for re-election. The officers of the section shall be elected at the Annual Meeting. Election shall be by majority vote of SPE Members. The vote will normally be taken amongst those present at the Annual meeting, but may be carried out electronically prior to the meeting, with a voting deadline no earlier than 10 days prior to the meeting. Officers shall take office immediately following the meeting at which they are elected. Election of the non-officiating members of the board of directors shall be held every two years, at the same meeting as the election of the Program Chairperson.

Directors at large

- Ludovic Macresy (Pathcontrol)
- Mark Michell (BHP Billiton)
- Ian Mitchell (Halliburton)
- Anas Sikal (Pathcontrol)

OWSG - Vote

Review

Record

- Pete Clark (Chevron) taking from Neil Bergstrom Chair
- Jordan Meyer (Noble Energy) taking from Son Pham as Secretary

Send out two years

election schedule

Elections for two most senior Directors at Large at next meeting

Elections at Meeting #44

Positions up for election

- Secretary
- Webmaster
- Treasurer
- Directors at large
- Directors at Large

If your are interested then please let anyone of the officers or directors at large know