The Industry Steering Committee on Wellbore Survey Accuracy

"The primary aim of this group is to produce and maintain standards for the industry relating to wellbore survey accuracy. To set standards for terminology and accuracy specifications. Establish a standard framework for modelling and validation of tool performance. Raise awareness & understanding of wellbore survey accuracy issues across the industry."


The ISCWSA work has resulted in the publication of technical papers, leading technical work shops, multiple SPE “Hits and Misses” workshops, the Wellbore Positioning and Well intercept e-books, collision-avoidance, (anti-collision) papers and API project. We have comprehensive cross-industry, international representation with regular attendance from a wide variety of service companies, operators, and consultants, academia and software companies.

The Industry Steering Committee on Wellbore Survey Accuracy was founded to dispel the confusion and secrecy commonly associated with wellbore surveying and to enable the industry to produce consistent, reliable estimates of survey-tool performance in today's wells. We achieve these goals through the production and maintenance of standards covering the construction and validation of tool error models.

Work focused initially on Measurement While Drilling systems. They provide a large proportion of the total directional survey data world-wide and, because of their similarities between suppliers, are more amenable to specification standardisation than other types of survey tool.

There is no formal membership enrolment to join the ISCWSA and its meetings are open to all who wish to attend. The committee generally holds twice yearly meetings and has held 49 meetings internationally to date. The ISCWSA is also affiliated with the Society of Petroleum Engineers, as the SPE Wellbore Positioning Technical Section.

ISCWSA Elected Committee Members -

Steve Sawaryn, Independent Consultant: Collision Avoidance Chair

Andy McGregor, AJ Consulting Ltd: Error Model Chair

Carol Mann, Dynamic Graphics Inc: Education Chair

Heather Vannoy, EOG Resources: Director at large

Adrian Ledroz, Gyrodata: Director at large

AnaS Sikal, PathControl: Director at large

Chad Hanak, SuperiorQC: Director at large